First day and new people.

In my last post Meet your new classmate! I mentioned my journey from home to the new school, this post will have essential details of my observations within the new walls! Let’s get started-

My ears were used to the loud sound of a hammer-bell-ringer, but the bell in this school wasn’t so loud, the campus was wide and the structure was that of an inverted F. So, this beautiful tall girl came up to me with the news of Assembly! I was very nervous and thought of taking along a notebook since I did not have the school diary yet. I was searching a notebook in my bag when the girl told me I need to hurry and there’s nothing that I need in the assembly, I was confused and thought that new students must be exempted from the rules. No one was in a queue on their way to the school ground, and the indiscipline shook me. When we reached the ground students were lining up, girls on the right side, boys on the left one, but not in any specific order; also, I realized that no one is holding a school diary for reading verses or prayer which was a bit awkward for me since my previous school had this strict rule of reading from the diary in assembly.school.jpg

Anyway, some students along with a teacher started singing a prayer I never heard of before, then there was a speech from the principal wishing the new students best of luck and making them realize that it is a big thing to be a part of such a great family, the school’s owner took him over to describe the hardships that older generations of the town went through to receive quality education, right after his speech a teacher announced that it is time to sing the National Anthem, and then we were dispersed! I was used to a long-lasting assembly, including P.T., Lord’s prayer, news reading, thought of the day, National pledge and at the very least 2 prayer- in Hindi and English. 

I reached back to the class room and noticed everyone settling in, with their branded bags on their seats, and our class teacher entered. We all stood to wish her good morning, I said good morning and was about to sit when I heard everyone else continuing in rhythm “Good morning Ma’am, how are you, Ma’am?”. Well, I must say I was a wee bit amused by the students’ casual behavior. The teacher, to my surprise, was also new in school and she started shuffling our places, I got seated with a new girl- she had long hair, a lean body and looked every bit as confused as I was, I thought we’d be great friends. With a little discomfort, I kept my bag on the seat in the space between me and my seat partner. I was excited about the changes, and still unaware of what this school would mean to me in a few years!

The teacher started writing something on the board, as I silently shut my eyes and read my daily prayer-

Our Father in heaven
Holy be your Name;
Your kingdom come,
Your will be done,
on Earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread,
and forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive those who trespass against us;
and lead us not into temptation,
but deliver us from evil.

-Amen.

Leave a Reply

