Facebook, Orkut and Princess Raman

Recap: The story of Jazz’s fall ft. Class XII

Teenage is a weird time, I wouldn’t say we were confused, but we were definitely seeking attention. I don’t know if kids these days are under as much pressure as we were to not put our pictures on social media, to not be too active online. I don’t know if they are using OkCupid, Tinder, or happn instead of our good old facebook groups, yahoo! answers, and orkut scraps to find love online.

But when I was 12, facebook was still a new thing, it was not considered good to waste time on social sites such as Orkut, facebook or the very recent google+ for that matter, and online dating had straight links to murder cases. But our generation was too desperate to be stopped, so some of us blocked our relatives, while others made fake accounts with Selena Gomez’s pictures as our profile pictures. Strangely, both girls and guys made a female fake Account, back then we did not know our tricks will be popularized as memes in 2018.

While a few of us were busy giggling at our newly begun affairs, others felt left out. To fill in the gap of being single, Turna and Raman (The topper girl, who stabbed us in the end, not literally!) made a fake account- Princess Raman.

I am not kidding, my friends were crazy, and sometimes I miss the kind of fearlessness we had back then. Turna, Jazz, and Raman had this IDs password, and although all of them were using it, Raman really did find some good out of it.

The first online dating story we came across was hers.

She found this guy from Mogga, good for her, Pinky Mogge vali  was making rounds those days, and so we would call her Pinky from the day we found out about her online adventures. Raman was a weird person, she was super studious, would complete all her homework, solve all the problems, and yet find time to chat online. (HOW!??)

Samiah, and I could hardly stalk three people in a day, and ended up finishing all the homework before assembly, using just one pen, and sometimes skipped a few words in the paragraph because we knew no one would check. (No wonder we were single.)

While walking to the music room, Samiah and I were discussing how Raman is so stupid to have found her love online, because online people are fake, and they never meet you or gift you chocolates!  When we reached the music room, Daman and his friend from my town (The guitar guy) was busy rehearsing ‘Inn Dino’ from  the movie Life in a metro.

[FLASHBACK: While Simi was busy looking at her crush, I noticed his friends, one of whom was a guy from my town, I saw him in the bus twice or thrice on special occasions. (Our town had two school buses, for different regions, let’s say North and South, and he was from the Southern side). He played guitar, I heard him sing on stage once, he probably noticed us looking at Daman, or at least we thought he did because he passed us looks.]

A lot of memories came back rushing to me. The year that I didn’t talk much about. Class VII. Right after Simi & I got close, and I developed a new friendship with Jasmine.

I pulled Samiah out of the room and straight to the washroom, “Do you think you have moved on?” she said.

“I don’t know.”

This is too close to my heart to be told in one chapter, I never knew this guitar guy would become so special for me. More on this in next chapter.